Skip navigation

Do you like to camp? Do you like to fish? Do you like to find places  off the beaten path? Do you like good food?  Are you looking for a place to stay that has lots of roads to ride, historic places to visit or just a place to relax?  I have just the place for you.

Located on the banks of the Tennessee river just below Pickwick dam is the Historic Botel. The Botel is a motel that is built on a barge. It’s been around for many years. The place has changed hands several times over the last few years. Some of them really haven’t taken very good care of this hidden gem. Luckily the new owners are correcting that. They are taking the time to renovate the restaurant. The plan is for it to reopen on Friday March 16, 2012.

Speaking of the restaurant. Let me just say I enjoyed some of the best catfish I’ve ever had on my last visit there. I drove my truck camper down a few weeks ago just to relax and visit with some friends a few weeks ago. The buffet had several choices of veggies along with a salad bar. If you leave hungry it’s your own fault. If a buffet isn’t your thing they also have a menu to order from.

I didn’t need hookups so I just camped on the bank of the river. Should you need them, they have hookups. They also have tent camping sites as well. Just beyond my camper in this picture is the boat ramp. You can put in and be fishing in no time. Perhaps you simply want to pleasure boat. Well put in and enjoy a day on the river and come wind down at the Historic Botel.

Close by you have Shiloh National Battlefield to explore. I highly recommend a visit there. Shiloh is one of my favorite places on earth. Perhaps a visit to the Buford Pusser Museum is for you. How about a short drive down to Corinth Mississippi?  Whatever you enjoy I’m certain you will find something to fit your tastes nearby.

Should you want more information on the Historic Botel check out their website at http://www.thehistoricbotel.com. On Facebook you can find them by searching Historic Botel.

Ride Safe

Ronman

Leave a Reply

