Skip navigation

Many years I’ve had an idea in my head.  I knew what I wanted to do.  I simply had to find the right pieces.  Today I found what I thought would be the ones. I couldn’t wait to get home and start to work.  It was scalding hot with impending thunderstorms.  I gathered my tools and set about the task at hand.

 

I had barely started when this big dark cloud drifted overhead. Sure thing it let out a loud clap of thunder and started to rain.  Well that put a damper on things for now.  I gathered all my tools and brought them back into the garage. I decided to sit there and listen to the Braves game on the radio while I enjoyed the rain. Quite impressive was the lightning.  The smell of the rain is always refreshing. It reminds me of when I was a kid.  We would play in the rain as long as there was not any lightning. I can still taste the salt from my skin being washed into my mouth by the rain.

 

After a span of time I decided to step inside and watch the end of the game.  I passed the time online as I waited for the storm to pass.  Finally it was safe to go back outside and continue.  Now I had done preliminary testing to see if there was room enough for the addition.  Yes, it seems as though there is.  I continued to drill and attach the bases.  Yes, I do believe this will work.

 

You see my little project was placing some lights under the tailgate of my old Dodge.  Years ago I had done the same of a couple of trucks.  I know it’s silly but it gives me pleasure to relive some of my past.  Picture this if you will. I was wearing one of the headlamps I recently picked up. You know, like I wore Coonhunting.  Here I am sitting behind my truck out in the drive drilling and screwing these lights on.  Once I had them all mounted it was time to reattach the tailgate.

 

Everything thus far had gone rather smoothly. Well, it didn’t last. It seems that the lights mounted in the center didn’t allow enough clearance for the tailgate to be lowered completely.  Upon further inspection I found that the tailgate was curved.  That slight curve was enough to catch on those center lights.  By this time I was sopping wet with sweat.  Frustrated, I decided to call it a night.  Tomorrow I’ll see if I can adjust the location of the center lights enough to allow the tailgate to operate properly.

 

Thus, my little project is put on hold.  There was a time that I would have been rather angry.  Tonight I simply laughed at my predicament. I’ll get something figured out.  I’ll find a way to have these lights.  They will symbolize the dim glow of my past.  Being mounted on the rear of the old Dodge will remind me of where I came from.  It’s important to always remember where you’ve been.  Though not as bright as where you’re going. The dim glow is always there to remind us of where we came from.

One Comment

  1. This reminded me of my old ’65 Ford Fairlane. Before I bought it, it had been modified from an automatic transmission on the steering column to a 4 speed in the floor. This mod didn’t include making the ‘backup lights’ work. So I decided to wire them to a toggle switch on bottom of the dash. (which was right next to a tachometer I had mounted on the dash. Note to self: never grab a loose tach that has lost it’s ground from the metal dash!) I had more fun with that backup light switch. If .someone tailgated me, I’d send them few flashes to backoff. The only problem was that the backup lights were located right in the center of my tail lights. If you were very far behind me you couldn’t even see the red part. My brother was following me one time through the rolling hills around McEwen and he said he kept expecting to meet a car because my backup lights from a distance looked like headlights coming toward him.

    Well, thanks for the memories. I too could smell the summer rain sitting on the front porch swing waiting on it to quit so we could go around the neighborhood and get up a baseball game in the neighbor’s lot.


Leave a Reply

