Skip navigation

Years ago I started doing this online blogging thing on MySpace.  Honestly it’s been so long since I’ve been to that site that I couldn’t remember how to log in if I had to.  Soon I decided that venue wasn’t working for me.  That’s when I found Blogger.  For a few years that’s where I wrote and posted photos.  Once again I wasn’t happy with the venue so I found WordPress, the current home of Rides Roads and Ronman.  Here I’ve been posting for the past few years.

Over that time the content here has varied.  Granted when I started this I was all about motorcycles and the activities surrounding them. Now that part of my life is a chapter full of memories.  Throughout that time I’ve met both online and in person, many people.  The current BIG thing is FaceBook.  You meet someone and immediately you want to connect on FaceBook.  Doing so brought the number of friends to well over a thousand.  The problem with that was that I felt so disconnected.  In time I cut that number back.  Nothing personal if you aren’t still on the dwindling list.  Well for most of you anyway.  For others it was personal.

The point I’m trying to make is that I found myself to be far too cluttered.  That clutter spilled over into every aspect of my life. My house. My vehicles. My yard. My mind.  Soon I was posting to several social media sites.  Instagram, Twitter and several others.  Many of the people I knew from both real life and online posted to these sites as well.  What became obvious is that we were posting the same things to all of our sites.  Granted there were some slight variations.

In looking back over this blog I can clearly see that the more I posted to the other sites the less I posted here.  The answer was clear.  I decided to delete my accounts at the many other sites.  In doing so I hope to increase my postings once again here at Rides Roads and Ronman.  I also hope to get back my eye for photography.  I can’t remember the last time I used the old SLR to capture photographs.

Please know that I am grateful for all of you who take the time to read what I write.  I’m continually humbled by that.  Some of you have followed me from the get go. Others have joined in along the way.  The mode of transportation may have changed from what you were used to.  However the journey that I’m on is still the same.  That journey is simply one man’s life and the pathway before him.

Thank you for following along,

Ronman

3 Comments

  1. I haven’t blogged either. I’m going to try your suggestion.
    Thanks

    • Chess, It can’t hurt. I’ve struggled for the past few years trying to figure it out. I believe I’m onto something now. Thank you for the many years of your friendship.
      Ronman

  2. There aren’t any ways near the Bloggers there used to be. Many are on Facebook, some have just disappeared, some don’t ride anymore, death has come to a couple. Life has, and takes, many paths and people do what works best for themselves. I leave my Blog must read list as is, normally. Was just looking at it last week and noticed some that hadn’t posted in 3,4,5 years. Started to clean it up, but stopped after a couple wondering if they might post an update. Once you get used to reading their stories they become friends and to just quit posting leaves the rest to wonder if they are OK.

    Doesn’t matter what you ride or drive, it is always good to see an update. Your words and views on life are interesting and I look forward to reading them, no matter how long between. Life isn’t predictable and it is good to know you’re doing well. That is all that matters.


Leave a Reply

