Skip navigation

Schools are closing for the year. Pools are being opened. The temperatures are rising.  The grass is growing.  Hell I even already have a couple of little tomatoes on the vines. It’s time to enjoy the sounds of birds chirping and lightning bugs twinkling. As I think about summers of years past I have many things to laugh about.

There was a year or two in which life was pretty good in the grand scheme of things. I won’t trouble you with the bad here. Only focusing on the funny side of life.  You know there could be nothing funny about a group of teens getting together to swim and enjoy the summer sun.

Growing up in Hillbilly Hollywood meant being around Country Music. There were always music stars in and around town.  For a time I had a friend whose family lived in the former home of some Country Music elite.  This home was well known for its guitar shaped swimming pool. Said friend’s family was pretty well to do. His parents would often spend most of the summer abroad. I can’t imagine why we would hang out at his house. Parents abroad, swimming pool, teenagers.

One such afternoon several of us were enjoying the pool. I didn’t have any swimming trunks with me so I had to improvise. I did however, have some old gym shorts behind the seat of my truck.  Problem solved. Soon we were splashing and swimming and having a good time. Now I’ve never been much of a swimmer. Lord knows I’m certainly not now.  It is always fun to splash around and carry on a bunch of nonsense with your friends.

Soon it was that time. You know, the time where all good things come to an end. As I climbed out of the pool and looked for a towel to dry myself, I heard a shriek.  One of the gals was pointing toward me and had a horrified look on her face.  It seems that gym shorts that are gray become transparent when wet. OOPS!

Ever heard the phrase “it’s a grower not a shower”?  Yeah well, anyway you get the idea.  Now once it gets angry that’s an entirely different story.   Just saying.  Let me know if you really need a reference.  Here’s the purpose of this story. Get out and enjoy the summer. Just remember to choose your clothing wisely. Some colors can be more revealing than others.  Unless , of course, you’re into that sort of thing.  If so this post doesn’t apply to you.

Enjoy your summer,

 

Ronman

2 Comments

  1. I sure plan on a great summer. Shorts or no shorts. As long as they are clean.Mother said 🙂

    • I think our Mothers were on the same page. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Ronman


Leave a comment